Monthly Archives: October 2017

RLWC 2017

Watch RLWC 2017 Live, Rugby League World Cup 2017 Live Stream Men’s & Women’s RLWC Rugby online, New Zealand Kiwis vs Australia kangaroos. Burgess is one of the stars of Australia’s NRLRugby League World Cup: Australia v England Venue: Rectangular Stadium, Melbourne Date: Friday, 27 October Time: 10:05 BST Coverage: Watch live on BBC Two & the BBC Sport app from 09:00 BST, listen on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra and follow text updates on the BBC Sport website.

RLWC 2017

Rugby League World Cup: Sam Burgess says 2017 squad has ‘X Factor’

England forward Sam Burgess says the squad for the 2017 World Cup has more “X Factor” than the one that got to the semi-finals of the 2013 tournament.

Reigning champions Australia will face England in the opening match of the 2017 Rugby League World Cup on Friday.

Rugby League World Cup preview: Will France forge ahead in 2017?

As co-hosts of the tournament alongside New Zealand and Papua New Guinea, Australia will be hot favourites to retain their crown after beating rivals New Zealand 34-2 in the 2013 final played at Old Trafford.

With the 2017 tournament culminating in the 2 December final in Brisbane, can anyone stop the Kangaroos winning on home soil? RLWC 2017 Live, RLWC 2017 Stream, RLWC 2017 Online, RLWC 2017 Schedule, RLWC 2017 Feed, RLWC 2017 TV Info, RLWC 2017 Live Telecast, RLWC 2017 News.

RLWC 2017 Live

We look at the fixtures, groups and main talking points.

Match schedule and host nations

The 2017 Rugby League World Cup will be held in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. A total of 28 matches will be played over a 36-day period spread across 12 venues. See a full fixture list at the bottom of this article.

RLWC 2017: fixtures, odds and how to watch on TV

How the RLW 2017 tournament works

The 14 teams competing in the World Cup will be split into two groups of four and two groups of three. England are in Group A alongside Australia, France and Lebanon. Scotland face New Zealand, Samoa and Tonga in Group B, while Wales and Ireland are alongside Papua New Guinea in Group C.

The top three teams from groups A and B and the winners of groups C and D will qualify for the quarter-finals.

  • One Group A: Australia, England, France, Lebanon
  • Two Group B: New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, Tonga
  • Three Group C: Papua New Guinea, Wales, Ireland
  • Four Group D: Fiji, United States, Italy


Teams to watch

Australia: coached by Mal Meninga, the Kangaroos are the overwhelming bookies’ favourites to win an 11th World Cup. They will be without key players such as Johnathan Thurston and Greg Inglis, but should still have too much for their World Cup rivals. Their opening match against England is billed as a “clash of the giants”.

England: Wayne Bennett’s “Poms” have “all the ingredients to knock over Australia and New Zealand” says the Daily Telegraph. The forward pack led by Sam Burgess, James Graham and Elliott Whitehead can “match it” with the Kangaroos or Kiwis. Burgess told the BBC that England’s 2017 squad have the “X factor” and stand a good chance of impressing at the tournament.

New Zealand: injuries and exclusions have hit the Kiwis, but the Daily Mirror says there’s still plenty of “world-class brawn” in the pack and “finishing power” in the backs. Write them off at your peril…

Tonga: the Daily Express says Tonga “could be the ones to watch”. Led by New Zealand-born Jason Taumalolo and Australian-born Andrew Fifita, a number of big-name defectors means Tonga are “shaping up as real dark horses for the semi-finals”.

Pundit predictions the National Rugby League website’s pool of eight writers all predict Australia to win the title, with seven of them saying they will beat England in the final. Tony Webeck writes: “A Kangaroos team without Johnathan Thurston, Darius Boyd, Matt Scott and Greg Inglis doesn’t look quite as fearsome as years gone by but the Aussies should still be too good.”

Daniel Lang, RealSport101: “Can anyone challenge the Aussies? There have been plenty of one-sided World Cups in the past, but 2017 is shaping up with Australia first and daylight second.”

Two-time Super League winner Ian Millward, “As the odds suggest, Australia will win the World Cup. They’ve had great preparation and have the best players. I like England to reach the final. They have plenty of talent at their disposal and look a good bet with New Zealand having plenty of problems to overcome.”

Bookies’ odds

Australia are firm favourites with bookies to win the World Cup. Here’s the latest prices from

  • Australia to win 1/4
  • England 8/1
  • New Zealand 10/1
  • Tonga 25/1
  • Samoa 80/1
  • Fiji 150/1
  • United States 1,500/1


How to watch the Rugby League World Cup on TV in the UK

Premier Sports is showing all matches live on Sky channels 428 (HD) and 462 (SD), and also on Virgin channel 551. Fans can subscribe to the online Premier Player to watch live coverage.

Meanwhile, BBC Two will show all England group matches live, plus one quarter-final, one semi-final and the final.

Rugby League World Cup fixtures (all times UK)

Friday, 27 October

  • Australia vs England (10am)

Saturday, 28 October

  • Papua New Guinea vs Wales (6am)
  • New Zealand vs Wales (8.10am)
  • Fiji vs United States (10.40am)

Sunday, 29 October

  • Ireland vs Italy (4am)
  • France vs Lebanon (5am)
  • Scotland vs Tonga (6.15am)

Friday, 3 November

  • Australia vs France (9am)

Saturday, 4 November

  • New Zealand vs Scotland (4am)
  • Samoa vs Tonga (6.30am)
  • England vs Lebanon (9am)

Sunday, 5 November

  • Italy vs United States (6am)
  • Papua New Guinea vs Ireland (6am)
  • Fiji vs Wales (8.30am)

Friday, 10 November

Saturday, 11 November

  • New Zealand vs Tonga (4am)
  • Samoa vs Scotland (8am)
  • Australia vs Lebanon (9am)

Sunday, 12 November

  • Papua New Guinea vs United States (5am)
  • Wales vs Ireland (7.30am)
  • England vs France (10am)

Friday, 17 November

  • Quarter-final: Group A1 vs Group B3 (9am)

Saturday, 18 November

  • Quarter-finals: Group B2 vs Group D1 (4am); Group B1 vs Group A3 (6.30am)

Sunday, 19 November

  • Quarter-final: Group A2 vs Group C1 (5am)

Friday, 24 November

  • Semi-final: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2 (9am)

Saturday, 25 November

  • Semi-final: Winner QF3 vs Winner QF4 (5am)

Saturday, 2 December

  • Rugby League World Cup final (9am)